Watch Live Coverage

About Us

About Spring Nationals

College Sailing’s Spring National Championships

College sailing nationals is an annual championship event for collegiate sailors in the United States. The event is organized by the Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA), and it is considered one of the most prestigious competitions in collegiate sailing.

The championship is divided into three parts: women’s championship, team racing championship, and the coed championship. Starting in 2008, ICSA added a semifinal championship regatta to the schedule, which is now held during the national championships week for both the women and coed championships.

The competition attracts top sailing teams from colleges and universities across the United States, with teams qualifying for the championship through regional regattas held throughout the season. The top teams from each region advance to the national championship, where they compete against one another for the title of national champion.

The event has a rich history, dating back to the early 20th century. Many of the most successful sailors in the world have competed in college sailing nationals, including Olympic medalists, America’s Cup winners, and Volvo Ocean Race competitors.

In 2023 college sailing nationals is hosted by the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY. The event schedule is as follows:

Womens’ Semifinal Championship: May 23-24

Women’s Championship Final: May 25-26

Team Racing National Championship: May 27-29

Coed Semifinal Championship: May 30-June 1

Coed Championship Final: June 2-June 3

Icsa Women’s National Championship


ICSA (Intercollegiate Sailing Association) started holding a National Championship for Women in 1980. The event is known as the Women’s National Championship and it features the top women’s college sailing teams from across the United States. The championship is held annually and consists of three days of racing in a variety of boats, with the winning team being awarded the Gerald C. Miller Trophy.

College Sailing Team Race National Championship

One Of The Most Competitive Team Racing Regattas On The Planet

ICSA (Intercollegiate Sailing Association) began the Team Racing National Championship event in 1981. This championship features teams of both men and women sailors competing head to head in three-boat teams. The event consists of three days of racing in two-person dinghies, with the winning team being awarded the Henry A. Morss Memorial Trophy. The Team Racing National Championship has become one of the most prestigious events in college sailing, with top teams from across the United States competing each year.

Icsa Coed National Dinghy Championship

The Best Of The Best

The ICSA Coed National Championship Regatta started in 1967. This championship event features teams of both men and women competing together in two-person dinghies. The Coed National Championship is held annually and is considered the premier event in college sailing, with teams from across the United States competing to earn the prestigious Wood Trophy. The championship consists of four days of racing, including two days of semifinal competition and two days of finals to determine the overall winner.